Is it just me, or has Gmail been sucking ass recently?

The title pretty much says it all.

Despite my blazing-fast internets connection, Gmail has been painfully slow and unresponsive in the past few months– and that’s when it bothers to be up and functioning at all.

Things have gotten so bad recently that on more than one occasion, I’ve had to resort to my old Yahoo e-mail account.

Yahoo, for fuck’s sake.

Google, please. Fire whatever methylphenidate-addled intern you’ve got running the show right now and get things back on track. Seriously.

Yours truly,

JT

p/s – Yes, I know this post has nothing at all to do with Japan. At least it’s sarcastic.

8 Responses

  1. It’s been fine for me, except a couple of weeks ago when it went down for a couple of hours.

  2. Fine for me too.

  3. well, you might not even be having the same problem as me, but sometimes gmail is so slow, I get:

    “Network Timeout
    The server at http://www.google.com is taking too long to respond.”

    But every other page I visit loads fine.

  4. It’s been utterly pathetic for me recently, including today. Takes *forever* to load, if it doesn’t time out altogether (as you mentioned). Sometimes I have to use the HTML version because the normal version just hangs…doing nothing…yet Google News loads up in a flash, as does Google Reader. Just not friggin’ Gmail…

  5. Yeah. Sucks ass. And as a VERY early proponent of gmail, it blows. Really shoddy, especially for a horizon charging company like google.

    How about this error I’m getting now: “The requested URL /accounts/ServiceLogin… is too large to process.”

    Too large to process?? It’s YOUR freaking URL! WTF?

    By the way, don;t bother trying to write back to me, I listed my gmail email so i won;t be able to get it.

  6. Takes a dump AT LEAST once a week – just can’t get into my accounts at all:

    “We’re sorry, but your Gmail account is temporarily unavailable. We apologize for the inconvenience and suggest trying again in a few minutes.”

  7. Agreed. The past few months, maybe as much as the past year, Google and especially gmail can be really slow or stopped at busy times. It never used to be like that. I was seduced a few years back into abandoning my other email accounts and no longer storing mail on my PC, yet now I too have even resorted to yahoo on occasion. And that’s saying something as yahoo deleted so many important emails of mine over the years. Immoral. And least google seems to keep my old mail fine.

    But, it seems I will have to start looking for an alternative. Wondering is it all anything to do with Java? Or a lack of servers? (Ignoramus wondering here clearly :-)…

  8. PS. Still working…

Leave a Reply

