How to usurp the slogan of a foreign politician

Being unemployed, I’ve found, tends to give one rather a lot of free time.

Staying cooped up indoors for too long drives me crazy, so I’ve been going on lots of long walks recently (actually got lost for about half an hour yesterday, which was quite the adventure).

Anyway.

changeAs I was out wandering around, I happened to pass by several promotional posters for politicians running for local elections. Of those posters, this one couldn’t help but enter my eye.

The pic came out a bit blurry (again), but all the important bits are visible. In the center is こんどは女性市長, or “This time around, let’s have a woman for mayor.”

Hell, sounds good to me. Change is a good thing.

And apparently this campaign shares that sentiment, as the word “change,” rendered here phonetically as チェンジ rather than via a Japanese equivalent, appears at the top of the poster.

And as you can see, at the bottom of the poster, the phrase “Yes! We will!” appears in English.

“Change!”

“Yes! We will!”

I feel I’ve heard variants of these campaign catchwords somewhere before…

5 Responses

  1. “We will haz change? Why yes, we will!”

    (Apologies to TGC)

  2. Umm, I mean TCG.

  3. > I feel I’ve heard variants of these campaign catchwords somewhere before

    Aha, you’ve been watching Bob The Builder haven’t you?

    “Can we fix it?”

    “Yes we can!”

  4. We are lady mayor, lady mayor for love; we are lady mayor, lady mayor for peace.

    Yay.

  5. Anyone would be better than Ishihara.

Leave a Reply

