My keitai strap

For damn near a decade, I refused to put any kind of ornamentation and/or dangly business on my keitai, or cell phone (more properly referred to as a 携帯電話, lit. “portable phone,” but these days often seen in print as ケータイ). However, when I saw this number, I knew my keitai was in for a bit of decoration.

strapWhat you see here is a BE@RBRICK figure that was included as promotional gift along with select bottles of Pepsi NEX. There were quite a few different ones available, including one of Neo from The Matrix, but it was this Heath Ledger-inspired Joker version that I just had to have.

Oddly enough, I haven’t seen these anywhere here in Tokyo — I picked this up late last year when I spent a week visiting some acquaintances out in the country (ugh, that’s a blog post in and of itself).

Anyway, just look at this little guy! Isn’t he great? And he apparently shares my love of Tokyo Black Porter, which makes him that much cooler.

Click here to see a clearer picture of what it looks like (don’t know what’s up with the blur in my photo), or here to see some guy’s big-ass digicam pic of it.

9 Responses

  1. “ugh, that’s a blog post in and of itself” hahaha, i blurted out loud when that line.

  2. LOL! You’d know better than anyone, mate.

  3. Are you sure that Joker is Heath Ledger-inspired?

    I kinda thought it might be the Chun Li or Sailor Moon Joker.

  4. My wife bought me a Bruce Lee keitai strap. With swingable nunchucks.

  5. Much like a J-horror movie, the blur in the photo means your days are numbered.

    Why?

    For the disgraceful act of putting a keitai strap on your phone.

    The only way to rectify this is to hurl the strap and the phone into the crater of Mt. Asama by midnight Saturday.

    Godspeed, son.

  6. Aye, Mr. Turningpin has turned. Can he turn back?

    Speaking for myself:

    Keitai count: 2
    Phone strap count: 0

  7. In the words of Mystery Science Theater 3000, “I regret nothing!”

  8. very disappointed in you.. next you will be wearing a skirt and dancing around a pole

  9. High five- I got the same one! Unfortunately, its leg recently fell off.

Leave a Reply

