One very nice thing about the Yamanote Line

As I’m sure you’ve noticed by now, I tend to go on about things (and people) that piss me off or just plain suck.

A lot.

The reason for this is that, frankly, there’s no shortage of Tokyo-produced idiocy out there that, if I can’t change, I can at least use this blog to character assassinate. But every once in a while, I like to shake things up a bit and throw out something that does not piss me off or just plain suck.

And believe it or not, what I’d like to bring up has to do with the Yamanote Line.

No, not the people using it to commit suicide, and not the slack-jawed idiots I previously posted about appearing on the TV commercials. And certainly not that candy-striped, hair-scrunching tweenybopper Kaela Kimura who hijacked every single TV and print ad in every single cabin a couple weeks back with her monkey-like antics. (Click the picture to see that fuckery in action.)

Anyway. This was supposed to be the nice post.

Which makes it all the more ironic that the one thing that gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling about the Yamanote is an advertisement. As much as it makes the eyes wince when I look up only to get an eyeful of fat Western golfer or dancing robot girl, it’s almost worth when I manage to catch … that ad.

Specifically, I’m talking about the ad for Wicked, the adaptation of the novelized prequel to the Wizard of Oz.

Now, I’ve seen the Wizard of Oz. I remember quite well what the Wicked Witch of the West — who has apparently now been retconned into being named “Elphaba” — looked like.

And I don’t remember her looking … well, sort of hot.

I mean, look at that grinning thing right there on the left. That’s pretty darn cute if you ask me.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t find a picture of Elphaba slinking around the place in her sleeveless dress, because that’s the scene that always brings a bit of flush to these cynical cheeks of mine.

Call me crazy, but a knock upon my door by Ms. Elphaba, formerly played by Megumi Hamada here, would be a most welcome one.

Provided the green makeup is still on, of course.

濱田めぐみさん
もし外国人でもよかったら、ご連絡を・・・。 

6 Responses

  1. 申し訳ないんですが、外国人はだめです。でも、ご自由に私の写真をゆっくり見て、手に入れないものを考えないで、どうぞ。

    濱田めぐみより

  2. I agree. Witches are supposed to have really long chins and noses with big, hairy moles on them.

  3. Hmph.

    I know this doesn’t matter, but there is someone who will remained unnamed that can not speak Japanese.

    I won’t tell you who, but that person exists.

    And that person wants a translation.🙂

  4. It reads as follows: Lucido-L will be the death of me, for I will jump in front of a train as soon as I’m done submitting this comment. Damn John Turningpin, damn his eyes.

  5. lol, the message at the end is classic.

Leave a Reply

